إدارة ضيق التنفس

ضيق التنفس

يتم تعريف ضيق التنفس ببساطة على أنه "الشعور بأنك تشعر بضيق في التنفس" ، ومعظمنا على دراية بهذا الإحساس عندما كنا نتجول في الماضي عندما كنا أطفالًا أو في سنوات لاحقة تسلق التلال أو التسرع في حافلة. في هذا السياق هو بالطبع رد فعل طبيعي تمامًا على المجهود ونحن مرتاحون له لأنه يمكننا السيطرة عليه.

ولكن عندما نشعر بضيق في التنفس ولم نبذل أنفسنا ، فإن الأمر مختلف جدًا. لم نعد نشعر بالسيطرة ونتيجة واحدة هي أن لدينا مستويات القلق ترتفع. بمجرد أن يبدأ القلق ، يمكن أن يتحول الشعور إلى حالة من الذعر ، الأمر الذي سيجعل الأمور أسوأ فقط لأن هذا في حد ذاته يمكن أن يسبب ضيق التنفس. من الأسهل التنفس إذا حافظنا على الهدوء قدر الإمكان.

يمكن أن يحدث ضيق التنفس فجأة (كهجوم حاد) أو تدريجيًا. يمكن أن يبقى لفترة طويلة ويصبح حالة مزمنة. من أجل تجنب القلق المفرط ، من المهم إعادة الأشخاص المتضررين (المرضى ومقدمي الرعاية) إلى السيطرة على الموقف ، وهذا ما سيفعله طبيبك. لذلك من المهم أن تخبر طبيبك عن أي نوبات غير متوقعة من ضيق التنفس. (ملحوظة: طبيبك يشير إلى ضيق التنفس كما ضيق في التنفس).

صورة تظهر امرأة تعاني من ضيق التنفس

الأسباب

هجوم حاد

سيتطلب منك الهجوم المفاجئ زيارة الطبيب بسرعة ، لأنه غالبًا ما يتطلب علاجًا فوريًا. الناس الذين لديهم الربومرض الانسداد الرئوي المزمن (COPD) أو فشل القلب عادة يتم إعدادهم بشكل جيد من قبل أطبائهم ، مع خطة عمل تتضمن بدء العلاج قبل وصول الطبيب. إذا كان جديدًا عليك طلب المساعدة الطبية دون تأخير.

في مجموعة من الأشخاص المصابين بداء الرشاشيات ، غالبًا ما يكون هناك الربو ومرض الانسداد الرئوي المزمن والعدوى (التهاب رئوي والتهاب الشعب الهوائية) للنظر. ال مؤسسة الرئة البريطانية سرد الأسباب الشائعة التالية:

  • نوبة الربو: قد تشعرين بأن صدرك ضيق أو أنك تشعرين بالأزيز بدلاً من ضيق التنفس.
  • تفجر مرض الانسداد الرئوي المزمن: قد تشعر بضيق في التنفس وتعب أكثر من المعتاد ولا تعمل طرقك المعتادة للتحكم في ضيق أنفاسك بشكل جيد.
  • أ صالانسداد الرئوي. هذا عندما يكون لديك جلطات في شرايين الرئة التي تنتقل من أجزاء أخرى من الجسم ، عادة ما تكون ساقيك أو ذراعيك. يمكن أن تكون هذه الجلطات صغيرة جدًا وتسبب ضيق تنفس حاد. يمكن إطلاق المزيد من الجلطات على مدى فترة طويلة مما قد يؤدي إلى تفاقم الشعور بضيق التنفس ، وفي النهاية قد تشعر بضيق التنفس اليومي على المدى الطويل.
  • التهابات الرئة مثل التهاب رئوي والتهاب الشعب الهوائية.
  • استرواح الصدر (تسمى أيضًا الرئة المنهارة)
  • الوذمة الرئوية أو الانصباب أو السوائل في رئتيك. قد يكون هذا بسبب فشل القلب في ضخ السوائل بكفاءة أو بسبب أمراض الكبد أو السرطان أو العدوى. يمكن أن يسبب أيضًا ضيق تنفس طويل المدى ، ولكن يمكن عكس ذلك بمجرد معرفة السبب.
  • نوبة قلبية (يسمى أيضًا تجلط الشريان التاجي)
  • عدم انتظام ضربات القلب. هذا إيقاع غير طبيعي في القلب. قد تشعر أن قلبك يفقد دقاته أو قد تعاني من خفقان.
  • فرط التنفس أو نوبة هلع.

ضيق تنفس طويل الأمد (مزمن)

عادة ما يكون ضيق التنفس المزمن من أعراض حالة مزمنة كامنة مثل الربو وحساسية الرشاشيات الرئوية (ABPA) ، الرشاشيات الرئوية المزمنة (CPA) ، والسمنة وأكثر من ذلك. ال مؤسسة الرئة البريطانية سرد الأسباب الشائعة التالية:

  • مرض الانسداد الرئوي المزمن (COPD)
  • سكتة قلبية. يمكن أن يكون هذا بسبب مشاكل في إيقاع أو صمامات أو عضلات القلب.
  • مرض الرئة الخلالي (ILD)، بما فيها التليف الرئوي مجهول السبب (IPF). هذه هي الحالات التي يتراكم فيها الالتهاب أو الأنسجة المتندبة في رئتيك.
  • التهاب الأسناخ التحسسي، وهو رد فعل تحسسي للرئة تجاه بعض الغبار الذي تتنفسه.
  • أمراض الرئة الصناعية أو المهنية مثل الأسبستالذي يسببه التعرض للأسبستوس.
  • توسع القصبات. هذا هو الوقت الذي تكون فيه القصبات الهوائية مشوهة ومشوهة مما يؤدي إلى تراكم البلغم والسعال المزمن.
  • الحثل العضلي أو الوهن العضلي الوبيلمما يسبب ضعف العضلات.
  • فقر الدم وأمراض الكلى.
  • الشعور بالسمنة ونقص اللياقة البدنية والشعور بالقلق والاكتئاب يمكن أن يسبب لك أيضًا ضيق في التنفس. قد تواجه هذه المشكلات غالبًا إلى جانب ظروف أخرى. علاجها هو جزء حيوي من علاج ضيق التنفس.

تشخيص ضيق التنفس

سيرغب طبيبك في اكتشاف ما يسبب ضيق التنفس لديك ، وكما ترى أعلاه ، هناك العديد من الاحتمالات لذلك يمكن أن يستغرق التشخيص بعض الوقت. في مجموعة من المصابين بداء الرشاشيات ، تكون القائمة أقصر بكثير ولكن سيظل طبيبك بحاجة إلى التأكد من أنه قد اكتشف السبب الصحيح. هناك العديد من النصائح المفيدة على موقع BLF للأشخاص الذين يذهبون لرؤية طبيبهم لأول مرة بضيق في التنفس ، بما في ذلك تسجيل أنواع الأنشطة التي تجعلك تشعر بضيق التنفس على الهاتف بكاميرا وعرض التسجيلات على طبيبك.

ملاحظة إذا كنت مريضًا بضيق التنفس المزمن ، سيُطلب منك في بعض الأحيان تسجيل مستوى ضيق التنفس لديك من 1 إلى 5 باستخدام هذا المقياس:

درجةدرجة ضيق التنفس المرتبط بالأنشطة
1لا ينزعج من ضيق التنفس إلا عند ممارسة التمارين الشاقة
2ضيق في التنفس عند التسرع في المستوى أو صعود تل صغير
3يمشي بشكل أبطأ من معظم الأشخاص في المستوى ، ويتوقف بعد ميل أو نحو ذلك ، أو يتوقف بعد 15 دقيقة من المشي بوتيرة خاصة
4توقف عن التنفس بعد المشي لمسافة 100 ياردة أو بعد بضع دقائق على الأرض المستوية
5ضيق التنفس لمغادرة المنزل ، أو لاهث عند تعريته

إدارة ضيق التنفس

بمجرد تحديد سبب ضيق التنفس ، يمكنك أنت وطبيبك العمل معًا للتحكم في تنفسك مرة أخرى. الأشياء التي يمكنك القيام بها (من موقع BLF):

  • إذا كنت تدخن ، الحصول على مساعدة للانسحاب. هناك دليل جيد جدًا على أن رؤية شخص تم تدريبه لمساعدة الأشخاص على الإقلاع عن التدخين ، بالإضافة إلى تناول بدائل النيكوتين و / أو الأدوية المضادة للشهوة يزيد من فرصتك في عدم التدخين على المدى الطويل.
  • احصل على عدوى الانفلونزا كل عام.
  • محاولة بعض تقنيات التنفس. هناك العديد من التقنيات التي يمكنك استخدامها لمساعدتك على التحكم في تنفسك. إذا كنت تمارس هذه الأشياء وتستخدمها كل يوم ، فسوف تساعدك عندما تكون نشيطًا وتتنفس. سيساعدك أيضًا على التحكم في حالة ضيق التنفس فجأة. بعض الأمثلة هي:
    - النفخ مع تقدمك: قم بالتنفس عندما تبذل مجهودًا كبيرًا ، مثل الوقوف أو التمدد أو الانحناء.
    - تنفّس الشفتين المتعفّنتين: الزفير مع شفتاك كما لو كنت صفيرًا.
  • كن اكثر نشط جسديا. يمكن أن يكون النشاط البدني المشي أو البستنة أو المشي في الكلب أو الأعمال المنزلية أو السباحة بالإضافة إلى الذهاب إلى صالة الألعاب الرياضية. اقرأ دليلنا لممارسة الرياضة في السرير أو الكرسي.
  • إذا كنت تعاني من حالة رئة ، يمكنك الرجوع إلى برنامج إعادة التأهيل الرئوي من قبل طبيبك ، وإذا كانت لديك مشكلة في القلب ، فهناك خدمات إعادة تأهيل القلب أيضًا. تساعدك هذه الفصول على التحكم في ضيق التنفس ، وتجعلك أكثر لياقة ، كما أنها ممتعة للغاية.
    إذا كنت تشعر بضيق في التنفس بسبب فقدان لياقتك ، فاسأل طبيبك أو ممرضة التمرين عنه مخططات الإحالة المحلية التي تدعم الأشخاص الذين يريدون أن يكونوا أكثر نشاطًا.
  • تناول الطعام الصحي وتحكم في وزنك. يمكن أن يساعدك طبيبك في معرفة وزنك الصحي. إذا كنت تحمل وزنًا زائدًا ، فستحتاج إلى مزيد من الجهد للتنفس والتحرك ، وسيكون من الصعب التحكم في مشاعرك.
    إذا كنت مصابًا بداء السكري ، اسأل عن الأحداث التعليمية لمساعدتك على إدارة وزنك وتناول نظام غذائي أكثر توازناً. يمكن أن يساعدك طبيبك أو ممرضة الممارسة في العثور على خدمات دعم الأكل الصحي.
  • احصل على العلاج إذا شعرت بالتوتر أو القلق. إذا لم تكن منطقتك تحتوي على عيادة مخصصة لعلاج ضيق التنفس توفر هذه المساعدة ، فاطلب من طبيبك العام إحالتك إلى استشاري أو طبيب نفسي إكلينيكي يمكنه المساعدة. في بعض الأحيان يمكن أن تساعد الأدوية أيضًا ، لذا تحدث إلى طبيبك العام حول هذا الأمر.
  • استخدم الدواء المناسب بالطريقة الصحيحة.- يتم علاج بعض ضيق التنفس باستخدام أجهزة الاستنشاق. إذا كان لديك جهاز استنشاق ، فتأكد من أن شخصًا ما يتحقق بانتظام من أنك تعرف كيفية استخدامه بشكل صحيح. لا تخف من طلب تجربة أنواع مختلفة إذا لم تتمكن من الاستمرار في النوع الذي لديك. استخدمها كما تم وصفها لك. اطلب من طبيبك أو الممرضة وصفًا مكتوبًا لكيفية إدارة حالة الرئة.
  • إذا كنت تتناول أقراصًا أو كبسولات أو سوائل للتحكم في تنفسك ، فتأكد من معرفة سبب تناولك لها واسأل أخصائي الرعاية الصحية أو الصيدلي إذا لم تفعل ذلك. إذا كان ضيق التنفس لديك ناتجًا عن قصور القلب ، فقد تحتاج إلى تعديل العلاج وفقًا لوزنك ومقدار تورم كاحليك. تأكد من أن لديك خطة مكتوبة تفهمها.
  • إذا كنت مصابًا بمرض الانسداد الرئوي المزمن ، فقد يكون لديك حزمة إنقاذ حتى تتمكن من بدء العلاج مبكرًا إذا كنت تعاني من نوبة. يجب أن يأتي هذا دائمًا مع خطة عمل مكتوبة تفهمها وتوافق عليها.

هل يمكن أن يساعد الأكسجين؟

تظهر الأدلة أن الأكسجين لن يساعد في تنفسك إذا كانت مستويات الأكسجين في الدم طبيعية. ولكن إذا كان لديك حالة تعني أن مستوى الأكسجين في الدم منخفض ، معالجة الأكسجين يمكن أن تجعلك تشعر بتحسن وتعيش لفترة أطول.

يمكن أن يحيلك طبيبك للحصول على المشورة والاختبارات. يجب أن ترى فريقًا متخصصًا لتقييم احتياجاتك والتأكد من استخدام الأكسجين بأمان. سيقومون بمراقبة استخدامك للأكسجين وتغيير وصفتك الطبية مع تغير احتياجاتك. لا تستخدم الأكسجين أبدًا بدون نصيحة متخصص.

مزيد من المعلومات:

Managing Breathlessness

Breathlessness

Breathlessness is simply defined as ‘feeling that you are out of breath’, and most of us are familiar with that sensation when we once ran around as children or in later years climbing hills or rushing for a bus. In this context it is of course a completely normal reaction to exertion and we are comfortable with it because we can control it.

However when we feel breathless and we haven’t exerted ourselves it is very different matter. We no longer feel in control and one result is that our anxiety levels rise. Once we start getting anxious the feeling can spiral to panic, which will only make things worse as this itself can cause breathlessness. It is much easier to breath if we keep as calm as possible.

Breathlessness can come on suddenly (as an acute attack) or gradually. It can stay for a long time and become a chronic condition. In order to avoid excessive anxiety it is important that the people affected (patients and carer) are put back into control of the situation, and that is what your doctor will do. It is therefore important that you inform your doctor about any unexpected bouts of breathlessness. (NB your doctor refers to breathlessness as dyspnoea).

image showing woman struggling with breathlessness

Causes

Acute attack

A sudden attack will require you to see a doctor quickly, as it often requires immediate treatment. People who have asthmachronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) or heart failure are usually well prepared by their doctors, with an action plan that includes starting treatment before the clinician arrives. If it is new to you seek medical assistance without delay.

In a group of people who have aspergillosis, there is often asthma, COPD and infection (pneumonia and bronchitis) to consider. The British Lung Foundation list the following common causes:

  • A flare-up of asthma: You might feel your chest is tight or feel you are wheezing rather than being short of breath.
  • A flare-up of COPD: You might feel more out of breath and tired than normal and your usual ways to control your breathlessness don’t work so well.
  • pulmonary embolism. This is when you have clots in your lung arteries that have travelled from other parts of your body, usually your legs or arms. These clots can be very small and cause acute breathlessness. More clots can get released over a long time and cause your feeling of breathlessness to get worse, and eventually you might have daily long-term breathlessness.
  • Lung infections such as pneumonia and bronchitis.
  • Pneumothorax (also called collapsed lung)
  • Pulmonary oedema or effusion or fluid in your lungs. This might be due to the failure of your heart to pump fluid around efficiently or due to liver disease, cancer or infection. It can also cause long-term breathlessness, but this can be reversed once the cause is known.
  • A heart attack (also called a coronary artery thrombosis)
  • Cardiac arrhythmia. This is an abnormal heart rhythm. You might feel your heart misses beats or you might experience palpitations.
  • Hyperventilation or a panic attack.

Long term (chronic) breathlessness

Chronic breathlessness is usually a symptom of an underlying chronic condition such as asthma, Allergic Bronchopulmonary Aspergillosis (ABPA), Chronic Pulmonary Aspergillosis (CPA), obesity and more. The British Lung Foundation list the following common causes:

  • Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD)
  • Heart failure. This can be due to problems with the rhythm, valves or cardiac muscles of your heart.
  • Interstitial lung disease (ILD), including idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis (IPF). These are conditions where inflammation or scar tissue builds up in your lungs.
  • Allergic alveolitis, which is an allergic lung reaction to certain dusts you breathe in.
  • Industrial or occupational lung diseases such as asbestosis, which is caused by being exposed to asbestos.
  • Bronchiectasis. This is when your bronchial tubes are scarred and distorted leading to a build-up of phlegm and chronic coughing.
  • Muscular dystrophy or myasthenia gravis, which causes muscle weakness.
  • Anaemia and kidney disease.
  • Being obese, lacking fitness, and feeling anxious or depressed can also cause you to feel short of breath. You might often have these issues alongside other conditions. Treating them is a vital part of treating your breathlessness.

Diagnosing breathlessness

Your doctor will want to discover what is causing your breathlessness and, as you can see above, there are many possibilities so diagnosis can take some time. In a group of people with aspergillosis the list is much shorter but your doctor will still need to be sure he has found the correct cause. There are several useful tips on the BLF website for people going to see their doctor for the first time with breathlessness, including recording the sorts of activity that make you breathless on a phone with a camera and showing the recordings to your doctor.

NOTE if you are a chronic breathlessness patient you will sometimes be asked to score your level of breathlessness from 1-5 by using this scale:

GradeDegree of breathlessness related to activities
1Not troubled by breathlessness except on strenuous exercise
2Short of breath when hurrying on the level or walking up a slight hill
3Walks slower than most people on the level, stops after a mile or so, or stops after 15 minutes walking at own pace
4Stops for breath after walking about 100 yards or after a few minutes on level ground
5Too breathless to leave the house, or breathless when undressing

Managing Breathlessness

Once the cause of your breathlessness has been established, you and your doctor can work together to get control of your breathing back. Things you can do include (from BLF website):

  • If you smoke, get help to quit. There is very good evidence that seeing someone who is trained to help people stop smoking, as well as taking regular nicotine replacement and/or anti-craving medicines, increases your chance of being a long-term non-smoker.
  • Get a flu jab every year.
  • Try some breathing techniques. There are various techniques that you can use to help you control your breathing. If you practise these and use them every day, they will help you when you are active and getting breathless. They will also help you manage if you get short of breath suddenly. Some examples are:
    – Blow as you go: breathe out when you are making a big effort, such as standing up, stretching or bending.
    – Pursed-lips breathing: breathe out with your lips pursed as if you were whistling.
  • Be more physically active. Physical activity could be walking, gardening, walking the dog, housework or swimming as well as going to a gym. Read our guide to exercising in a bed or chair.
  • If you have a lung condition, you can be referred to a pulmonary rehabilitation (PR) programme by your doctor, and if you have a heart problem there are cardiac rehabilitation services too. These classes help you to get control over your breathlessness, get you fitter and are also lots of fun.
    If you are breathless due to loss of fitness, ask your GP or practice nurse about local referral schemes that support people who want to be more active.
  • Drink and eat healthily and manage your weight. Your doctor can help you work out what your healthy weight should be. If you are carrying excess weight you will require more effort to breathe and move around, and it will be more difficult to get control over your feelings of breathlessness.
    If you have diabetes, ask about educational events to help you to manage your weight and eat a more balanced diet. Your GP or practice nurse can help you to find healthy eating support services.
  • Get treatment if you feel stressed or anxious. If your area doesn’t have a dedicated breathlessness clinic that provides this help, ask your GP to refer you to a counsellor or clinical psychologist who will be able to help. Sometimes medicines can help too, so talk to your GP about this.
  • Use the right medication in the right way.- Some breathlessness is treated with inhalers. If you have an inhaler make sure somebody regularly checks you know how to use it correctly. Don’t be afraid to ask to try different types if you can’t get on with the one you have. Use them as they have been prescribed to you. Ask your doctor or nurse for a written description of how to manage your lung condition.
  • If you take tablets, capsules or liquids to control your breathing make sure you know why you are taking them and ask your health care professional or pharmacist if you don’t. If your breathlessness is due to heart failure you might need to adjust your treatment according to your weight and how much your ankles swell. Make sure you that have a written plan that you understand.
  • If you have COPD, you might have a rescue pack so you can start treatment early if you have a flare-up. This must always come with a written action plan that you understand and agree with.

Can oxygen help?

Evidence shows that oxygen will not help your breathlessness if your blood oxygen levels are normal. But if you have a condition that means that the level of oxygen in your blood is low, oxygen treatment can make you feel better and live longer.

Your GP can refer you for advice and tests. You should see a specialist team to assess your needs and ensure you use oxygen safely. They will monitor your use of oxygen and change your prescription as your needs change. Never use oxygen without specialist advice.

Further information: