التجارب السريرية

اختيار الأدوية المضادة للفطريات في السوق صغير ، وهناك قيود على تلك التي يمكن أن تحددها NHS. طورت العديد من سلالات الفطريات مقاومة للعديد من الأدوية ، وتعني الآثار الجانبية القاسية أن بعض المرضى لا يمكنهم تحمل بعض الأدوية ، لذلك هناك حاجة ماسة لمضادات الفطريات الجديدة ، من الناحية المثالية من الفئات الجديدة التي لم تتأثر بعد بالمقاومة.

كيف تتم الموافقة على الأدوية الجديدة

إن الحصول على دواء جديد هو عملية طويلة ومكلفة تمر عادةً بالمراحل التالية:

بحث أساسيالتعرف على المرض والبحث عن أهداف جزيئية لاستخدام الأدوية الجديدة ضدها. 
إكتشاف عقارفحص مكتبات الكيماويات ، أو تعديل تركيبات المركبات الواعدة.
دراسات ما قبل السريريةاختبار مدى نجاح الدواء الجديد المحتمل في أنبوب اختبار أو نموذج حيواني.
تطبيق لبدء المحاكمات البشرية
المرحلة 0 وأنااختبار الدواء لدى متطوعين أصحاء ، لمعرفة ما يحدث للدواء داخل الجسم - مدى جودة امتصاصه في مجرى الدم ، وتوزيعه على الأنسجة ذات الصلة (مثل الرئتين) ، والتمثيل الغذائي والتخلص منه عن طريق البول / البراز. يساعد هذا الباحثين على تحديد مجموعة الجرعات التي يجب استخدامها في التجارب.
المرحلة الثانيةاختبار الدواء في عدة مئات من المرضى المصابين بالحالة ، لمعرفة الجرعة الأكثر فعالية والحصول على فكرة عن أي آثار جانبية شائعة.
المرحلة الثالثةاختبار الدواء في عدة مئات إلى عدة آلاف من المرضى المصابين بالحالة ، لقياس مدى جودة علاج الدواء للمرض بدقة وعدد المرات التي ينتج فيها كل تأثير جانبي.
طلب الموافقة على الدواءالتقدم بطلب إلى EMA (أوروبا) أو وكالة تنظيم الأدوية الخاصة بدولة معينة مثل FDA (الولايات المتحدة) للحصول على إذن لبدء بيع الدواء.
تقييم لطيفتقرير ما إذا كان الدواء مفيدًا بما يكفي لجعله يستحق التكلفة إلى NHS
التكليف / التمويلإذا لم تنصح NICE دواء للاستخدام الروتيني (وهو ما كان عليه الحال بالنسبة للعديد من مضادات الفطريات) ، فلا يزال بإمكان الطبيب وصفه للمريض إذا وافق CCG المحلي على تمويله. NAC هو CCG متخصص لديه حرية إضافية لوصف بعض مضادات الفطريات ، وقد تصف بعض وحدات الزرع اتقاء مضاد للفطريات.
المرحلة الرابعةيُعرف أيضًا باسم مرحلة ما بعد التسويق. التحقق من أداء الدواء كما هو متوقع في بيئة "العالم الحقيقي".

اقرأ المزيد عن عملية الموافقات: المجلة الصيدلانية أو فان نورمان (2016)

CCG = مجموعة التكليف السريري

كما يمكنك أن تتخيل ، من الصعب أن نقول بكل يقين كم من الوقت ستستغرق للأدوية الجديدة التي ربما سمعت عنها لتكون متاحة في العيادة. نناقش أحدث التطورات في اجتماعاتنا الشهرية للمرضى ومقدمي الرعاية ، والتي يمكنك القيام بها مشاهدة هنا.

ما هي الأدوية الجديدة الموجودة حاليًا في تجارب داء الرشاشيات؟

عادة ما يتم اعتماد الأدوية الجديدة لداء الرشاشيات الغازية قبل CPA / ABPA.

  •  F901318 (olorofim) هو مضاد فطري جديد من فئة جديدة تمامًا من الأدوية (الأوروتوميدات). يتم تطويره بواسطة F2G Ltd، وهي شركة عرضية من بين مستشاريها البروفيسور ديننغ. لقد مر F901318 بتجارب مختلفة في المرحلة الأولى ودخل مؤخرًا (يوليو 2018) محاكمة المرحلة الثانية لمعرفة مدى نجاحه في 100 مريض يعانون من الالتهابات الفطرية الغازية الذين ليس لديهم خيارات علاجية أخرى.

كيفية البحث عن معلومات حول تجارب الرشاشيات

يجب أن تكون التجارب السريرية مسجلة علنًا لأسباب أخلاقية (لأنها تشمل أشخاصًا من البشر). يمكنك استخدام Clinicaltrials.gov للبحث عن التجارب التي قد تكون مؤهلاً للمشاركة فيها ، أو للعثور على نتائج التجارب التي تم الانتهاء منها مؤخرًا.

إذا لم تكن مرتاحًا للمخاطر التي ينطوي عليها اختبار دواء جديد ، يمكنك التطوع للتسجيل أو دراسة التشخيص / دراسة العلامات الحيوية بدلاً من ذلك. تنظر العديد من التجارب في كيفية استخدام الأدوية الموجودة في جرعات جديدة أو تركيبات جديدة ، أو في مجموعات مختلفة من المرضى ، على سبيل المثال ATCF: Itraconazole / voriconazole لمرضى التليف الكيسي الذين يكون البلغم إيجابيًا دائمًا فطر الرشاشيات.

screengrab من موقع التجارب السريرية

Clinical trials

The choice of antifungal drugs on the market is small, and there are limitations on which ones the NHS can prescribe. Many strains of fungus have evolved resistance to multiple drugs, and harsh side effects mean some patients cannot tolerate certain drugs, so there is a desperate need for new antifungals, ideally from new classes that are not yet affected by resistance.

How new drugs get approved

Getting a new drug approved is a long and expensive process that normally goes through the following stages:

Basic researchLearning about the disease and looking for molecular targets for new drugs to be used against. 
Drug discoveryScreening libraries of chemicals, or tweaking the structures of promising compounds.
Pre-clinical studiesTesting how well the potential new drug works in a test tube or animal model.
Application to begin human trials
Phase 0 and ITesting the drug in healthy volunteers, to see what happens to the drug inside the body - how well is it absorbed into the bloodstream, distributed to the relevant tissues (e.g. lungs), metabolised and eliminated through the urine/faeces. This helps the researchers decide what range of dosages to use in the trials.
Phase IITesting the drug in several hundred patients with the condition, to see which dosage is most effective and get an idea of any common side effects.
Phase IIITesting the drug in several hundred to several thousand patients with the condition, to accurately measure how well the drug treats the disease and how often it produces each side effect.
Application for drug approvalApplying to the EMA (Europe) or a country-specific medicines regulatory agency such as the FDA (U.S.) for permission to start selling the drug.
NICE assessmentDeciding whether the drug is beneficial enough to make it worth the cost to the NHS
Commissioning/fundingIf NICE do not recommend a drug for routine use (which has been the case for many antifungals), a doctor can still prescribe it to a patient if their local CCG agrees to fund it. The NAC is a specialist CCG that has extra freedom to prescribe certain antifungals, and some transplant units may prescribe antifungal prophylaxis.
Phase IVAlso known as post-marketing. Checking that the drug performs as well as expected in a 'real world' setting.

Read more about the approvals process: Pharmaceutical Journal or Van Norman (2016)

CCG = Clinical Commissioning Group

As you can imagine, it is difficult to say with any certainty how long it will take for new drugs you may have heard about to be available in clinic. We discuss the latest developments in our monthly patient and carer meetings, which you can watch here.

What new drugs are currently in trials for aspergillosis?

New drugs are usually approved for invasive aspergillosis before CPA/ABPA.

  •  F901318 (olorofim) is a novel antifungal from a completely new class of drugs (the orotomides). It is being developed by F2G Ltd, which is a spin-off company whose advisors include Professor Denning. F901318 has been through various Phase I trials and has recently (July 2018) entered a Phase II trial to see how well it works in 100 patients with invasive fungal infections who do not have other treatment options.

How to look up information about aspergillosis trials

Clinical trials must be registered publicly for ethical reasons (because they involve human subjects).  You can use clinicaltrials.gov to search for trials that you might be eligible to participate in, or to find the results of trials that have recently been completed.

If you aren’t comfortable with the risks involved in testing a new drug, you could volunteer for a registry or diagnostics/biomarker study instead. Many trials look at how we can use existing drugs in new dosages or new combinations, or in different groups of patients e.g. ATCF: Itraconazole/voriconazole for cystic fibrosis patients whose sputum is persistently positive for Aspergillus.

screengrab of clinical trials website