هل الرطوبة رطبة علينا؟

رطبة النافذة من التكثيف

أصبحت الآن مقبولة على نطاق واسع (إرشادات منظمة الصحة العالمية (2009) والمزيد المراجعة الأخيرة لمارك مندل (2011)) أن المنازل الرطبة ضارة بصحة العديد من الناس ، بما في ذلك الربو (خصوصا الربو الحاد) وأولئك الذين يعانون من أمراض الجهاز التنفسي الأخرى. بصرف النظر عن خطر فطر الرشاشيات التعرض (وهي مشكلة خاصة للأشخاص الذين يعانون من حالات مثل داء الانسداد الرئوي المزمنABPA و CPA), هناك العديد من المخاطر الأخرى على الصحة في منزل رطب (على سبيل المثال ، الفطريات الأخرى والروائح والغبار والحشرات والمزيد). الأطفال وكبار السن معرضون للخطر بشكل خاص.

هناك دليل جيد أن الاستثمار في جعل المنازل أقل مضيافة للنمو الرطب والعفن له تأثير مفيد مباشر على صحة الإنسان. لم يعد هذا موضوعًا محل جدل جدي - فالرطوبة ضارة بالصحة. بالضبط ما يدور حول الرطوبة التي تضر بصحتنا لا يزال محل نزاع قوي ، ولكن وجود الرطوبة ليس كذلك.

من أين تأتي الرطوبة؟

تعاني العديد من المنازل من الرطوبة في وقت أو آخر. في بعض البلدان ، يتم تصنيف ما يصل إلى 50% من المنازل على أنها رطبة ، ولكن في البلدان الأكثر ثراءً ، يتم تعيين تكرار المنازل الرطبة عند حوالي 10 - 20%. بعض الأسباب واضحة ، مثل الفيضانات (التي أصبحت أكثر شيوعًا في بعض مناطق العالم بفضل الاحترار العالمي) أو انفجارات الأنابيب الداخلية الكبيرة ، ولكن يمكن أن تكون مصادر الرطوبة الأخرى أقل سهولة في الرؤية. وتشمل هذه:

  • تسرب مياه الأمطار من خلال جدار خارجي (مزراب مكسور)
  • تسرب المياه (أنابيب خفية)
  • سقف تسرب
  • اختراق المطر من خلال الجدران
  • ارتفاع الرطوبة

ومع ذلك ، هناك العديد من المصادر داخل منزل مشغول قد لا تدرك أنها أسباب رئيسية للرطوبة:

  • نحن (وحيواناتنا الأليفة) نتنفس ونخرج رطوبة العرق
  • طبخ
  • الاستحمام والاستحمام
  • تجفيف الغسيل على المشعات
  • حفظ أسماك الزينة
  • مجففات الملابس غير المبردة

وقد قدر أن مصادر المياه هذه يمكن أن تضع 18 لترًا من الماء (كبخار الماء) في هواء المنزل النموذجي يوميًا!

أين يذهب كل بخار الماء هذا؟ في معظم المنازل في الماضي كانت هناك طرق كافية لتمرير الهواء الرطب للخروج من مبنى دون مزيد من المساعدة. في السبعينيات ، قيل أن متوسط درجة الحرارة في المنزل في المملكة المتحدة كان 12سC ، جزئياً بسبب وجود القليل من التدفئة المركزية وجزئياً لأن الحرارة التي ستتبدد بسرعة من خلال الشقوق والثغرات في هيكل المبنى وفي اندفاع الهواء الساخن الذي يتدفق من مدخنة متوسط حريق الفحم! هل تتذكر الاضطرار للعيش في غرفة واحدة حول النار لمحاولة الحفاظ على الحرارة؟

في الوقت الحاضر نتوقع درجات حرارة الغرفة أعلى بكثير وبفضل التدفئة المركزية ، ونوافذ زجاجية مزدوجة ، وأبواب مناسبة بإحكام وأرضيات محكمة الإغلاق (ناهيك عن عدم وجود شبكة تهوية في المساكن الحديثة) ، فإننا نميل إلى الحصول على درجة حرارة 18 - 20سج في معظم منازلنا وفي أكثر من غرفة واحدة لكل بيت. يحافظ نقص التهوية على الرطوبة في منازلنا ، ويعني ارتفاع درجات الحرارة أن الهواء يمكن أن يحمل المزيد من الرطوبة.

كل هذه العوامل تضع الماء في الهواء في منازلنا التي يمكن أن تستقر وتكثف على أي سطح بارد بما فيه الكفاية. يمكن أن تشمل هذه الأسطح الجدران الخارجية الباردة (والجدران في غرف غير مدفأة) ، وأنابيب المياه الباردة ، وملفات تبريد التكييف ، والنوافذ وغيرها الكثير. بمرور الوقت يمكن أن يسبب هذا رطوبة كافية لتعزيز نمو العفن - بعضها مباشرة على الجدران الباردة والبعض الآخر ناتج عن تقطير التكثيف على الجدران وما إلى ذلك.

الجدران المغطاة بالورق أو عجينة ورق الجدران تشكل ركائز مثالية لنمو العفن بمجرد وجود رطوبة كافية. يبدو أن بعض الجدران (مثل الجدران ذات السماكة المفردة الصلبة التي تواجه الهواء الخارجي والجدران التي لا تحتوي على مسار رطب) قد تم بناؤها على افتراض أن الماء سيسمح بمرورها من خلالها وتعمل بشكل جيد وتبقى جافة. ومع ذلك ، إذا قام شخص ما بتغطيته بطبقة مقاومة للماء مثل الطلاء غير المسامي أو ورق الحائط غير النفاس ، يمكن أن تتراكم الرطوبة في الحائط وتسبب مشاكل.

نتيجة صورة للمؤسسة الملكية للمساحين القانونيين

هناك العديد من الأمثلة على أسباب الرطوبة وقد يكون من الصعب جدًا التشخيص بشكل صحيح. يُنصح أصحاب المنازل بتعيين مستشارين رطبين بعناية ، حيث توجد مشاكل في معايير العمل في هذه الصناعة في المملكة المتحدة. مقالة بحثية كتبها Who! كشفت مجلة المستهلك في ديسمبر 2011 أخطاء واسعة النطاق في الحكم من جانب بعض أكبر شركات التدقيق الرطبة. أعطت العديد (5 من أصل 11 شركة تم اختبارها) نصيحة سيئة مع العمل باهظ الثمن وغير الضروري الموصى به

نقترح الاتصال بمساح مؤهل بالكامل ولكن هذا قد يكون صعبًا. من الشائع لموظفي شركات مقاومة الرطوبة تسمية أنفسهم "مساحين رطبين" بأحرف بعد اسمهم ؛ في أسوأ الأحوال ، قد يعني هذا أنهم اجتازوا ببساطة دورة قصيرة (برنامج تعليمي لمدة 3 أيام) في التشخيص والإصلاح الرطب. سيحصل الكثيرون على خبرة إضافية وسيكونون على درجة عالية من الكفاءة ولكن هناك مؤشر قوي من الذي! مسح كل ما ليس كما ينبغي. يجب على مساح البناء المؤهل بشكل صحيح أن يدرس لمدة ثلاث سنوات حتى مستوى الشهادة (في الواقع هم يدرسون لمدة عامين آخرين للحصول على القبول في جامعة في المقام الأول) لبدء تعلم تجارته. استخدام كلمة "مساح" له معان كثيرة في المملكة المتحدة!

المعهد الملكي للمساحين القانونيين (هيئة دولية تدعم المعايير في جميع أنحاء العالم) و معهد المساحين المتخصصين والمهندسين (خاص بالمملكة المتحدة) يمكنه تقديم المشورة بشأن العثور على مساح مناسب لاحتياجاتك.

Is damp bad for us?

Image result for condensation

It is now widely accepted (WHO guidelines (2009) and a more recent review by Mark Mendell (2011)) that damp homes are bad for the health of many people, including asthmatics (particularly severe asthmatics) and those with other respiratory illnesses.  Aside from the risk of Aspergillus exposure (which is a particular problem for people with conditions such as COPDABPA and CPA), there are many other risks to health in a damp home (for example, other fungi, odours, dusts, insects and more). Children and the elderly are particularly at risk.

There is good evidence that investment in making homes less hospitable to damp & mould growth has a direct beneficial effect on human health. This is no longer a subject that is seriously debated – damp is bad for health. Exactly what it is about damp that is bad for our health is still strongly disputed, but the presence of damp is not.

Where does damp come from?

Many homes suffer from damp at one time or another. In some countries up to 50% of houses are classified as damp, but in wealthier countries the frequency of damp homes is set at around 10 – 20%. Some causes are obvious, such as flooding (getting more common in some areas of the world thanks to global warming) or large internal pipe bursts, but other sources of damp can be less easy to see. These include:

  • Leakage of rainwater through external wall (broken guttering)
  • Leaking plumbing (hidden pipes)
  • Leaking roof
  • Penetration of rain through walls
  • Rising damp

However there are many more even more sources within an occupied house that you may not realise are major causes of damp:

  • We (and our pets) breathe out and sweat moisture
  • Cooking
  • Showering & bathing
  • Drying laundry on radiators
  • Keeping pet fish
  • Unvented tumble dryers

It has been estimated that these sources of water can put 18 litres of water (as water vapour) into the air of the typical home per day!

Where does all this water vapour go? In most homes in the past there were enough routes for moist air to pass out of a building with no further help. In the 1970’s the average temperature in a home in the UK is said to have been 12oC, partly because there was little central heating and partly because what heat there was would be rapidly dissipated through cracks and gaps in the building structure and in the rush of hot air that would flow up the chimney of the average coal fire! Remember having to all live in one room around the fire to try to keep the heat in?

Nowadays we expect far higher room temperatures and thanks to central heating, double glazed windows, tightly fitting doors and sealed flooring (not to mention the lack of ventilation grating in modern housing), we tend to attain a temperature of 18 – 20oC in most of our houses and in more than one room per house. The lack of ventilation keeps moisture in our homes, the higher temperatures mean that the air can hold more moisture.

All of these factors put water into the air of our homes which can settle and form condensation on any surface cold enough. These surfaces can include cold outer walls (and walls in unheated rooms), cold water piping, air conditioning cooling coils, windows and many more. In time this can cause enough damp to promote mould growth – some of it directly on the cold walls and some caused by condensation dripping onto walls etc.

Walls that are covered in paper or wallpaper paste make perfect substrates for mould growth once there is enough moisture present. Some walls (e.g. solid single thickness walls facing the outside air, walls with no damp course) were apparently built assuming that water would be allowed to percolate through them and they work well and stay dry. However, if someone covers them in a waterproof coating such as non-porous paint or impermeable wallpaper, the moisture can accumulate in the wall and cause problems.

Image result for royal institution of chartered surveyors

There are many more examples of causes of damp and it can be very difficult to diagnose correctly. Homeowners are advised to employ damp consultants carefully, as there are problems with standards of work in this industry in the UK. A research article written by Which! consumer magazine in December 2011 revealed widespread errors of judgement on the part of some of the largest damp proofing companies. Many (5 out of 11 companies tested) gave poor advice with expensive and unnecessary work recommended

We would suggest contacting a fully qualified surveyor but this can be difficult. It is common practice for employees of damp proofing companies to call themselves ‘damp surveyors’ with letters after their name; at worst this can mean they have simply passed a short course (3 days tutorial) in damp diagnostics and repair. Many will have additional experience and will be highly competent but there is a strong indication from the Which! survey all is not as it should be. A properly qualified Building Surveyor must study for three years to degree level (in fact they study for a further two years to gain admission to a University in the first place) to begin to learn his trade. Use of the word ‘Surveyor’ has many meanings in the UK!

The Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (an international body that upholds standards throughout the world) and the Institute of Specialist Surveyors and Engineers (UK specific) can advise on finding a surveyor appropriate for your needs.